440 Wyoming Conference

 

 

 

CHAPTER XI

BINGHAMTON DISTRICT

 

Auburn, Pa.

 

Springville Circuit was a very large one, and its growth

made a division necessary. At the fourth Quarterly Conference

held at Lymanville on February 27, 1858, it was decided that the

division should be made at once. The new circuit appears in the

list of appointments of 1858. It took its name from the township

in which most of the appointments are situated, and contained the

following appointments: Overfield, White's (or Bennett's) Cor-

ners, Auburn Four Corners, Cartertown, Dunmore, and Eddy.

The first pastor was John Mulkey, a superannuate who was made

effective and served the charge one year. The first Quarterly

Conference was held in Daniel Carter's barn in Cartertown.

 

During the first three or four years of the circuit's history it

received $100 per year from the Missionary Society.

 

In 1864 the official members of the circuit became an incorpo-

rate body, with the following as trustees: James Kasson, A. W.

Gray, Charles Fessenden, Lyman Cogswell, James Moore, Samuel

Bertholf, Thomas S. James, Daniel Carter, and Daniel Sterling.

The trustees hold the property of the circuit. In 1886 the

trustees were James Kasson, J. B. Beardsley, B. E. James, I. R.

Low, C. W. Pierson, Griswold Carter, Elias Titman. After the

completion of the church at the Center the three following trus-

tees were added to the board: John Tewksbury, Dr. G. M. Har-

rison, Leander Lott.

 

In 1870 the circuit comprised the following appointments:

Cartertown, Shannon Hill, Kasson Corners, East Rush, Rush

Four Corners, and Auburn Corners. In 1886 the following com-

prised the circuit: Auburn Four Corners, Auburn Center, East

Rush, Shannon Hill, and Retta.

 

In the fall of 1870 a delegation from the Jersey Hill Protestant

Methodist Church met with the Quarterly Conference at Carter-

town, and asked to have their appointment supplied by the min-

ister of Auburn charge, to which the Quarterly Conference agreed.

The arrangement proved so satisfactory that the members of the

Jersey Hill Church asked to be received into the Methodist Epis-

copal Church, in 1872. It took a little time to secure the transfer


 


 

Auburn, Pa. 441

 

of property. It was done, however, and in 1873 they became

a part of Auburn Circuit.

 

In order to accommodate the Jersey Hill people, it became

necessary to make the Rush Corners class a week-day evening

appointment. To this the Rush Corners people cheerfully agreed.

However, they subsequently became dissatisfied with the arrange-

ment and refused week-day preaching. They invited the pastor

of Rush Mission to give them a Sunday service. After consulting

the Auburn pastor he consented to do so. This eventually led to

the transfer of this preaching place to the Rush charge.

 

Auburn Four Corners. In June, 1880, steps were taken toward

building a church at Auburn Four Corners. A lot for the church

was given by E. L. Adams. A subscription was circulated, and

when about $1,500 was secured a meeting was called and the fol-

lowing building committee elected: James Kasson, D. C. Titman,

and Rev. H. C. McDermott. The society furnished hemlock

lumber and laid the foundation. The balance of the work was

awarded by contract to E. L. Adams. The corner stone was laid

on September 28, 1880, with appropriate ceremonies and an ad-

dress by Rev. J. G. Eckman. On September 13, 1881, the build-

ing was dedicated. The building with fittings cost $2,200. After

a sermon by Rev. J. G. Eckman, at 10 A. m., $355 was asked for

and $435 given. In the evening Rev. J. B. Sumner preached.

Revs. F. A. Dony, G. O. Beers, and C. H. Basford were present

and participated in the services of the day.

 

Auburn Center. The class was first organized in 1871 or 1872

by uniting a few members of Jersey Hill with a few at Auburn

Center, with preaching services every two weeks at Jersey Hill.

In the spring of 1886 a subscription paper was circulated for the

building of a church at Auburn Center. Enough was secured to

warrant success. The following building committee gave efficient

service: A. L. Pierson, Leander Lott, Dr. G. M. Harrison,

William Stevens, and Elias Titman. The contract was let to

Elias Titman for $1,450. The building is a Gothic structure,

30x44 feet, standing on an elevated piece of ground, and presents

an attractive picture. In its tower is the only church bell in

Auburn township. The building and furnishings cost about

$2,000. The corner stone was laid on July 3, 1886, Rev. Thomas

Harroun making the address; and the building was dedicated on

November 10, 1886, Rev. M. S. Hard, D.D., preaching in the

morning and Rev. W. H. Olin, D.D., in the evening. Preaching

services are held here once in two weeks. This society was


 


 

442 Wyoming Conference

 

visited with a gracious revival in 1895, resulting in sixty-seven

probationers. In 1893 the plastering of this church fell. The

room was then ceiled with Georgia pine at a cost of $300. The

Epworth League and Ladies' Aid Society are very efficient.

 

Elk Lake. This class was organized about 1826. In 1876 a

great revival occurred, resulting in about eighty conversions.

After having been a part of Rush Circuit a number of years it was

put on Auburn Circuit in 1892. From the time of organization

to the occupancy of the church the class worshiped in a school-

house. In 1899 Miss Sallie Stevens and Mr. J. G. Cart gave the

society a beautiful lot, on which a pretty church was built costing

about $1,000. The church was dedicated on December 19, 1899,

by Rev. L. C. Floyd. Mr. E. W. Stedman presented the church

with a beautiful organ.

 

Craig Hill. This is a schoolhouse appointment, having services

once in two weeks. There has been a class at this place over sixty

years. Thomas Bayley was class leader here about sixty years

ago. Rev. John W. Davidson preached in the old schoolhouse in

1841. This class was taken from the Springville Circuit and

added to Auburn Circuit in 1892.

 

Shannon Hill. This class worshiped in a schoolhouse for many

years. A church was earnestly desired. The Ladies' Aid Society

agreed to build the foundation. About $1,400 was received on

subscription toward the building. The corner stone was laid on

August 13, 1901, with appropriate services. Revs. H. B. Bene-

dict, J. S. Custard, I. J. Smith, and H. B. Burns participating.

Plans were made to dedicate the church in April, but a storm on

the day fixed prevented. On May 6, 1902, the building was dedi-

cated. It had cost, with furnishings, $2,250, and was all provided

for except $317, which was raised on this day. Rev. L. C. Floyd

preached in the morning, and Rev. A. Griffin in the afternoon.

Revs. L. T. Van Campen, A. Wrigley, and I. J. Smith were pres-

ent and participated in the services. This appointment was known

as Overfield until 1858, when it was changed to Shannon Hill.

 

White's {or Bennett's) Corners was a schoolhouse appointment

two miles south of Auburn Comers. It has been dropped.

 

Cartertown is now on the Rush charge, and known as Retta.

 

Dunmore was about four miles northwest of Auburn Corners,

and is now known as Rush Four Corners.

 

Eddy is now on the Rush charge, and known as East Rush.


 


 

Centenary Church, Binghamton 443

 

Kasson Corners was a schoolhouse appointment about two and

a half miles from Auburn Corners. It was dropped some years

ago.

 

For many years the parsonage was about one mile southwest

of Auburn Corners, on land of J. B. Beardsley, and a few rods

west of his home. It was built in the fall of 1863 and spring of

1864, the church having the use of land only. When the new

parsonage was built Mr. Beardsley bought the old one, giving

$600 for it. About two years afterward it burned to the ground.

In 1885 the new parsonage was built at Auburn Corners. The

lot cost $100, and the building $1,164.10. W. A. Bennett was the

contractor, and B. E. James, Griswold Carter, Elias Titman, and

Rev. J. H. Taylor the building committee.

 

Pastorates

 

1858, John Mulkey; 1859, Cromwell Pearce; 1860, J. V. Newell;

1861-62, W. H. Gavitt; 1863-64, A. J. Arnold; 1865-67, J. H.

Weston; 1868-69, J. F. Wilbur; 1870-72, George Greenfield;

1873-75, Silas Earner; 1876-78, A. Wrigley; 1879-81, H. C. Mc-

Dermott; 1882-84, G. L. Williams; 1885-87, J. H. Taylor; 1888-

92, W. H. Stang; 1893-94, D. C. Barnes; 1895-97, Isaac Jenkins;

1898-99, L. T. Van Campen; 1900-01, Thomas Eva; 1902-03,

H. A. Williams.

 

 

Binghamton, N. Y. Centenary

 

We insert with this sketch a drawing by Mr. W. H. Stillwell,

now an aged and much-loved member of Centenary Church. We

are indebted to him for many of our facts concerning Bingham-

ton Methodism. The tree gives the original members as roots,

shows the split and its healing, and also the origin of the other

societies in the city.

 

In 1812 Joseph Manning, Lydia Manning, his wife, and Sally,

their daughter, then about eight years old, moved to Binghamton,

then known as Chenango Point. Two years later Peter Wentz,

his wife Margaret, and a young girl named Penina Rood, moved

into the place. All of these persons were members of the Meth-

odist Episcopal Church, except Mrs. Wentz, who was converted

and united with the Church in 1818. Joseph Manning was a

natural leader. He established prayer services at his house, which

was located on the south side of Main Street at the west end of

the Chenango bridge, near one of the twin elms, the remains of

which are still visible. Mr. Manning appealed to the preacher in

charge of Broome Circuit for pastoral oversight, and a preacher


 


 

 

444 Wyoming Conference

 

METHODIST TREE IN BINGHAMTON [illustration]


 


 

Centenary Church, Binghamton 445

 

was promised. Accordingly, Rev. Ebenezer Doolittle was sent to

organize the work in the fall of 1817. He arranged to preach at

Manning's house once in three weeks. No record of these early

days has been found, but according to Sally Manning, who stated

in 1874 these facts, the class at organization consisted of Joseph

Manning, Lydia Manning, Sally Manning, Peter Wentz, and

Penina Rood, with Joseph Manning as class leader. Mrs. Mar-

garet Wentz was one of the first converts to join the society.

Meetings were held for some time in Mr. Manning's house, sub-

sequently in the village schoolhouse, afterward in the Mcintosh

building and not unfrequently in the courthouse. This courthouse

was a log structure, 24x36 feet, standing on Court and Chenango

Streets, where the Perry block now stands. The lower story

contained two cells made of logs for prison purposes, and the

balance of the story was used by the sheriff for a family residence,

the upper story being used for court, political, and religious pur-

poses. Soon after its formation the society became a recognized

part of Broome Circuit. In 1820 its members had increased to

twenty-seven. About this time a committee was appointed to

secure a location and provide a church building. In 1821 a re-

quest was presented to the Bingham estate, through General

Whitney, its agent, for the donation of a lot for church purposes.

The request was granted, and the lot on Henry Street, containing

about two acres, was conveyed to the society in 1822. At a meet-

ing held in the schoolhouse on November 24, 1821, at which Sela

Payne and Moses Dyer presided, the society was incorporated,

and Ely Osborn, Isaac Page, Moses Dyer, Jonah Mushprat, Sela

Payne, John Whitham, and Charles Stone were made trustees.

The Episcopal society had built a church six years before this

time. Desiring to build a better and larger building, they offered

their church for sale. The Methodist Church bought the building,

tradition says for one dollar, and at an expense of about $170

moved it on to the Henry Street lot. The Methodists deemed the

securing of this building as providential. It was a very ordinary

and commonplace-looking building, but with a little improvement

lasted the society many years without alteration.

 

Anyone desirous of seeing the identical church built by the

Episcopalians in 1816 and sold to the Methodists in 1822 can do

so by going to the rear of the block used by the Republican Pub-

lishing Company. It is now used by the Republican Company as

a storage room.

 

The society at this time numbered forty-four members, and

owed $140. The inside of the church was not remodeled. The


 


 

446 Wyoming Conference

 

pew doors were left on their hinges, and out of respect to the

donor the elevated pulpit, called the "hawk's nest," was retained.

 

The rapid growth of the village brought additions to church

membership, and in 183 1 the society thought it could do better

work if set off from the circuit and made a station. This was

done in 1832.

 

Mr. Stilwell gives the following list of pastors prior to 1832:

1817, Ebenezer Doolittle; 1818, I. Arnold; 1819, H. G. Warner;

1820, W. Luce; 1821, Horace Agard; 1822, John Sayre; 1823,

Solon Stocking; 1824, Gaylord Judd; 1825, George Evans; 1826,

H. P. Barnes; 1827, M. K. Cushman; 1828, Philo Barbary; 1829,

B. Shipman; 1830, Silas Comfort; 1831, Silas Comfort and

Nelson Rounds.

 

By comparing this with the appointments for Broome Circuit

during those years some serious discrepancies will be found. The

appointments as given for the circuit are taken from the pubhshed

Minutes. We know, however, that in those days the presiding

elders frequently made changes in their work just after Confer-

ence and during the year, which, with possible inaccuracies of

memory, would give room for the disagreement.

 

When the society began its career as a station it became known

as Henry Street Church and had one hundred and thirty-six

members.

 

From 1832 to 1852 the church did not thrive as many desired.

The city grew to over four thousand population, but the principal

streets did not center toward the church. The location seemed

unfortunate from the beginning. It had no debt, and no desire

for improvement of church property. And some regretted the

expenditure of $1,700 in 1846, which added thirty feet to the

length of the building and remodeled the interior. The society

had a fair portion of good business men among its members, yet

the church was not considered thrifty, and the building, which

was not at all artistic in appearance, came to be called "The

Methodist Eel Pot."

 

In 1851 W. H. Pearne, the pastor, appointed a committee to

consider the wants of the church, select a better location, dispose

of the old church building, if possible, and take preliminary steps

for the erection of a new church. The report of this committee,

which was well intended, proved a disastrous move for Methodism

in Binghamton for the following fifteen years. The committee

suggested the society be divided into two divisions; that two

churches be organized, one on the east and one on the west side

of the Chenango River. This seemed a very wise move. At that


 


 

Centenary Church, Binghamton 447

 

time the west side of the river was an open field, there being no

Protestant church in that section. Accordingly, the church pro-

ceeded with the mutual division of its membership, before the

property had been sold, which consisted of the Henry Street

church property, valued at $4,600, a parsonage on Chenango

Street, valued at $2,600, and a house and lot on Main and Oak

Streets, valued at $2,100. Could the property have been sold at

these prices, and the proceeds divided, the committee's plan would

have been a success. The society which was to locate on the east

side of the river refused to buy the Henry Street church at the

above valuation, or to improve the property, or continue church

work upon the premises. The Henry Street church had not been

disbanded, and, the compact having failed, the trustees, still hold-

ing the property, refused to make any division. This created a

feeling between the two societies in which' neither was fully

justified.

 

The new society set off proceeded to properly organize itself,

and on June 30, 1851, became an incorporated body under the

title of "The Second Methodist Episcopal Society of Binghamton,"

with P. B. Brooks, J. W. Corbin, R. W. Hinds, I. T. Cary, Stew-

art Wills, R. Service, and E. W. Bingham as trustees. The com-

mittee appointed to secure a location found a deserted church on

the corner of Court and Caroll Streets. This church had been

built by some seceders from the old church in 1841, who were

known as Protestant Methodists. The building was about 40x70,

built of wood, with pulpit, pews, plain plastered ceiling, and a

seating capacity of about four hundred and fifty. This was pur-

chased for $1,000; $375 was expended in putting the property into

shape for use. This society was commonly called the Court

Street Church. It had one hundred and twenty members, and a

Sunday school of sixty scholars. The bishop was asked to send

a pastor, and soon Rev. George P. Porter was sent to them.

 

We give here the pastorates of this Court Street Church: 1851,

George P. Porter; 1852, H. R. Clarke; 1853, E. Owen; 1854, E.

Owen and E. W. Breckinridge; 1855, B. W. Gorham; 1856, P. S.

Worden; 1857, H. R. Clarke; 1858-59, J. A. Wood; 1860, B. W.

Gorham; 1861-62, D. C. Olmstead; 1863, P. S. Worden; 1864,

G. H. Blakeslee.

 

The bitterness aroused by the separation gradually died out, and

a conviction arose that the two churches ought to unite and form

a strong center of Christian work. This conviction grew with

passing years, until in 1865 steps were taken toward amalgama-

tion. When the two societies were brought together it was dis-


 


 

448 Wyoming Conference

 

covered that they had gained less than one hundred members in

sixteen years.

 

Early in 1865 amalgamation began, Thomas H. Pearne being

the pastor of Henry Street at the time. Court Street was left

without a pastor, with the union in view. A new charter was

granted on April 3, 1865, the society taking the corporate name of

"The Methodist Episcopal Church of Binghamton," and Eli

Pratt, William Hanlon, William J. Rennie, H. W. Horton, Joseph

Bartholomew, John S. Conklin, Lowell, Harding, M. T. Winton,

 

and H. F. Bronson were elected

trustees. Some time after the in-

corporation Thomas H. Pearne re-

signed, and D. W. Bristol was em-

ployed. Ground was secured for a

new church on the corner of Court

CENTENARY, BINGHAMTON

[photo]

 
and Centenary Streets, and prepara-

tions for building begun. The build-

ing is of brick with sandstone trim-

mings, and Gothic in style. The

building is 68x152 feet, the rear end

of which is fitted up for prayer

meeting and Sunday school work.

The tower is 180 feet high and has

a bell weighing 3,000 pounds. The

church cost about $53,000, and was

dedicated on Thursday, July 9,

1868. Bishop Janes preached in the

afternoon from Isa. vi, 1-4, and Dr.

R. S. Foster preached in the even-

ing from Isa. ix, 6. Ten thousand

dollars was subscribed during the

day toward paying the debt.

 

In 1891 $4,000 was spent on the interior, the floor made bowling,

a gallery put in, walls newly frescoed, and floor recarpeted. The

main floor will seat about eight hundred and fifty and the gallery

about four hundred and fifty. In 1895 $8,000 was expended in

enlarging and refitting the Sunday school and prayer rooms. The

acoustic properties of the auditorium were much improved by

these alterations, so that now it is a very pleasant room to speak

in. In 1899 $18,500 was raised, $7,000 of which was applied on

old debt, $4,500 in the purchase of lot adjoining the church on

Court Street, $3,000 for a new pipe organ, and $4,000 on

exterior improvements to the building.


 


 

Centenary Church, Binghamton 449

 

The parsonage is in the rear of the church, facing Centenary

Street.

 

Several great revivals have been reported. In 1860 230 con-

versions were reported; from October, 1876, to March, 1877,

over 400 conversions were claimed; and from December 31, 1884,

to February 12, 1885, 250 persons professed conversion.

 

The church has sustained several missions in the city, which

have developed into thrifty churches.

 

By common consent the society has been called Centenary

Church for years, probably from the fact that it began its cor-

porate existence about the time of Methodism's centenary in

1866.

 

Henry Street Church entertained the Oneida Conference in

September, 1836, and July, 1847, and the Wyoming Conference

in July, 1856, and April, 1868. Centenary Church entertained the

Wyoming Conference in April, 1876, April, 1883, and again in

April, 1896.

 

We give the pastorates of the Henry Street and Centenary

Churches below:

 

1832-33, D. A. Shepard; 1834-35, J. S. Mitchell; 1836, H. Col-

burn; 1837, H. F. Rowe; 1838, Robert Fox; 1839, Joseph Cross;

1840, W. H. Pearne; 1841-42, Freeman H. Stanton; 1843-44,

Abel Barker; 1845-46, T. H. Pearne; 1847, A. J. Dana; 1848-49,

Z. Paddock; 1850-51, W. H. Pearne; 1852, B. W. Gorham; 1853,

J. W. Davison; 1854, D. A. Shepard; 1855-57, A. P. Mead; 1858-

59, T. D. Walker; 1860, Z. Paddock, E. Owen; 1861, Z. Paddock;

1862, W. Wyatt; 1863-64, W. B. Westlake; 1865, T. H. Pearne;

1866-67, D. W. Bristol; 1868, J. D. Adams; 1869-71, W. H. Olin;

1872-74, L. C. Floyd; 1875-77, Austin Griffin; 1878-80, I. T.

Walker; 1881-83, W. H. Olin; 1884-85, O. W. Scott; 1886-90,

M. S. Hard; 1891-94, G. M. Colville; 189 -97, J. H. Race;

1898-1900, Henry Tuckley; 1901, supply; 1902-03, J. M. Taber.

 

 

Binghamton, N. Y. Tabernacle

 

In the spring of 1872 the Centenary Church appointed a com-

mittee, consisting of Rev. L. C. Floyd, W. H. Stilwell, N. T.

Childs, and E. N. Harris, to look over the city missionary field and

report at an early date. The committee reported that the field on

the west side of the river demanded better work, that it was ready

for reapers, and suggested the organization of work in that sec-

tion at once. The opposition to swarming at this time was oh the

ground that it would break into the sinking fund plan, which was


 


 

450 Wyoming Conference

 

operating nicely in reducing the church debt, and leave the mother

church with a heavy debt almost $16,000. But the time had

come for the members living on the west side of the river to form

a new society, and they resolved to do so.

 

In the fall and winter of 1871 and 1872 a few members of the

Centenary Church started a series of meetings on the west side

among the students and in the school kept by Miss Ingalls, on

Front Street, a few doors from Main Street. This school was in

spirit under the influence of Methodism, and the interest in this

revival work so increased as to form the nucleus for the new

church in that part of the city.

 

TABERNACLE, BINGHAMTON [photo]

 

After incorporation a lot on the corner of Main and Arthur

Streets was bought for $11,500. The lot is 137 feet on Main

Street, and 212 feet on Arthur Street, and had a house on the

rear, which has been so improved as to make a very desirable

parsonage. One hundred and forty members were set off from

Centenary Church to form this society. In the spring of 1873

the society asked for a pastor, and their request was granted. A

hemlock structure called the Tabernacle was erected to give tem-

porary shelter for the congregation. It was 30x80 feet in size,

with twelve-foot posts, and covered on the inside with manilla

paper. Seated with chairs, which were very comfortable, the


 


 

Tabernacle Church, Binghamton 451

 

novelty of the building and the enthusiasm of the people made the

Tabernacle at once popular, and the building was usually well

filled.

 

The growth of the society was rapid for a few years. In

1883 it was thought the time was ripe for building a substantial

church edifice. The corner stone of the present church was laid

on Monday, September 3, 1883, at 2 {30 p. m. Rev. J. G. Eckman

delivered the address of the occasion and laid the stone. Bishop

Foster had preached to the congregation on the Sunday previous

in Lester Hall, and was present at the corner stone laying. Dur-

ing the erection of the church the congregation worshiped with

the Centenary people. The church is a Gothic building 112x83

feet, built of brick with cut stone trimmings. The west tower is

100 feet high and the east tower 70 feet. The main audience

room is 50x70 feet square, with bowling floor, and a gallery,

capable of -seating one thousand people. The Sunday school room

is in the rear of the auditorium and so arranged that it can be

used as an annex to the auditorium. Its organ cost about $1,700.

Many of the windows are memorial. Windows are here to the

memory of Rev. Solon Stocking, Dr. Z. Paddock, J. C. Maney,

James Stevens, and one to Miss Ruth Ingalls, by her pupils. The

building and furnishings exclusive of lot cost $42,442.63. About

$15,000 had been raised by subscription, $10,000 in bonds had

been issued, and $15,972 was needed to be raised on the day of

dedication, which was on September 14, 1884. At 10:30 a. m.

Dr. C. N. Sims preached from Psa. cxxxvii, 5, 6, and in the even-

ing Dr. J. P. Newman preached from Acts iv, 12. Dr. Sims

managed the finances during the day, and secured $12,000 in sub-

scriptions. At the close of the evening service Dr. Olin dedicated

the church.

 

In December, 1888, about $8,000 was raised, which paid the

indebtedness of the society, with the exception of the bonded

indebtedness of $10,000. This was paid in the winter of 1898

and 1899.

 

The Tabernacle Church entertained the Conference in April,

1890, and again in April, 1903.

 

Pastorates

 

1873-75, A. D. Alexander; 1876-78, T. Harroun; 1879-81, J. B.

Sumner; 1882-83, E. W. Caswell; 1884-85, A. L. Smalley; 1886-

90, G. M. Colville; 1891-93, A. Griffin; 1894-98, E. B. Olmstead;

1899-1903, A. W. Hayes.


 


452 Wyoming Conference

 

 

BINGHAMTON, N. Y. HIGH STREET

 

The Centenary Church ran a Sunday school in this vicinity

several years, occupying a wagon shop. The mission was con-

sidered a very thrifty one. Several conversions added much to

the interest of the work. In 1873 the members of Centenary

Church living on the south side of the Susquehanna River asked

their pastor to aid them in securing a site and erecting a building

to be known as High Street Methodist Episcopal Church. Cen-

tenary Church dismissed forty-three members to organize this

 

HIGH STREET, BINGHAMTON [photo]

 

society, and gave eighty of its Sunday school scholars. Organiza-

tion was completed, a lot purchased, and a chapel erected on it

26x40, a modest building, seated with chairs. Lot and building

cost about $1,600. The society thought at first it could. supply

itself with local preachers, but as the work grew it felt the need

of more thorough supervision. It accordingly asked the Con-

ference for a pastor. After being supplied in 1874 and 1875 by

Rev. Joseph Hartwell, the Conference sent Rev. J. B. Sumner

here in 1875. He was the means of the society's becoming incor-

porated, and placed it upon a sound financial basis. As the church

grew, the little chapel was enlarged until it could be enlarged no

more. The church literally outgrew the chapel.

 

The present lot was secured on the corner of High and South


 


 

High Street, Binghamton 453

 

Water Streets. The corner stone was laid on September 9, 1890.

Speeches were made by Drs. McLean and Hard and ReV. Thomas

Harroun, and the corner stone was laid by Mrs. Bradshaw. The

building is of brick, 55x83 feet. The auditorium is 47X77,

and will seat about six hundred people. The basement has class

rooms, ladies' parlors, and a prayer room. The building was

dedicated on February 26, 1891, at 2 p. m.. Bishop Andrews

preaching the sermon and dedicating the church. Dr. R. W. Van

Schoick preached in the evening. Dr. M. S. Hard managed the

finances during the day and secured about $5,000 in subscriptions,

leaving $1,000 unprovided for. The Church Extension Society

aided the church in this enterprise to $500.

 

A debt-paying day was held on Sunday, October 14, 1894. Dr.

S. F. Upham preached in the morning and afternoon, in the even-

ing an Epworth League rally was held. Many of the Binghamton

pastors were present during the day. The sum of $8,050 was

wanted, and $5,248.50 subscribed.

 

The parsonage is on High Street, just above the church. The

church and parsonage property is valued at $15,000, upon which

there is an indebtedness at this writing of $3,300.

 

Pastorates

 

1874-75, Joseph Hartwell; 1876-78, J. B. Sumner; 1879-81,

A. D. Alexander; 1882-84, W. J. Judd; 1885-87, O. L. Severson;

1888, W. L. Thorpe; 1889-93, John Bradshaw; 1894, W. G. Simp-

son; 1895-97, T. F. Hall; 1898-99, H. H. Dresser; 1900-03, J. B.

Cook.

 

 

Binghamton, N. Y. Chenango Street

 

Chenango Street Church was organized in 1880. However, a

few years previous to this the Centenary Church had established

a Sunday school, prayer and preaching service, for the benefit of

those living in this part of the city. In 1876 a number of conver-

sions here added strength to the work, which was a success from

the beginning. Growth rendered imperative larger rooms. A

new location was found and rooms fitted up for church work.

This location was unfortunate and unpleasant, and was a matter

of regret for some time. It required all the vigor of the young

society to maintain its existence.

 

The society was incorporated on September 10, 1878, under the

corporate name of "The Chenango Street Methodist Episcopal

Church," and Marvin Caniff, Horace D. Root, Seneca Duell,

Alonzo Roberson, and Nicholas M. Martin were elected trustees.


 


 

454 Wyoming Conference

 

Seventy members and one hundred and forty Sunday school

scholars were taken from the Centenary Church at the organiza-

tion of this society. Rev. Asa Brooks supplied this society dur-

ing 1880.

 

The northward growth of the city prompted the church in 1886

to think of following the population. Accordingly, a lot on the

corner of Chenango and Allen Streets was secured and the present

church erected. The building is brick with stone trimmings, with

 

CHENANGO STREET, BINGHAMTON [photo]

 

an auditorium which will seat five hundred people. The basement

is commodious, almost wholly above ground, and well provides

for the Sunday school and social work of the church. The church

was dedicated on Tuesday, April 3, 1888. Dr. M. S. Hard

preached in the morning, and Dr. G. M. Colville in the evening.

Dr. Olin, the presiding elder, dedicated the church at the close of

the evening service. The cost of lot, church, and expenditure on

the parsonage was $15,181.74. Bonds had been issued to the

amount of $6,500. Several thousand had been raised by subscrip-

tion, leaving $2,300 to be raised on the day of dedication, which

was readily secured.


 


 

Fairview, Binghamton 455

 

In 1898 a new pipe organ was put into the church, and several

improvements made, costing about $700.

 

The parsonage is in the rear of the church, on Allen Street.

 

The house and lot adjoining the church on Chenango Street

were purchased in 1901 at a cost of $2,500.

 

Pastorates

 

1881, M. E. Bramhall; 1882-84, A- D- Alexander; 1885, W. B.

Kinney; 1886-90, E. L. Bennett; 1891-93, W. J. Hill; 1894-97,

J. A. Faulkner; 1898-1900, I. N. Shipman; 1901-02, George For-

syth; 1903, C. M. Olmstead.

 

 

Binghamton, N. Y. Fairview

 

Fairview Church is the youngest daughter of Centenary

Church, and has had a phenomenal growth. The Centenary

Church conducted a mission in this field for a long time, in which

a class meeting and Sunday school were maintained, and occa-

sionally a preaching service had been held. In 1896 it became

evident that a society could be successfully formed here. Acting

in harmony with the Methodist Union of the city and with the

advice of the presiding elder, Centenary Church bought the lot on

the corner of Robinson and Bigelow Streets, 169 feet on Robinson

Street, and 212 feet on Bigelow Street. The Union also suggested

that a missionary be employed and a place of worship constructed

at an early date, and that the Centenary Church be permitted to

raise the funds, construct the church, and present the same to the

people of Fairview free from debt. This suggestion came from

the Centenary Church, which was desirous of doing the work.

The following committee from the Centenary Church was at once

appointed: W. H. Stilwell, J. J. McElroy, and J. C. Whiting;

plans were secured and work begun. Ground was broken for the

building on Monday, November 16, 1896. W. H. Stilwell

measured out the lot, a hymn was sung, prayer offered by Rev. J. L.

Wells, an address made by L. C. Floyd, and short speeches made

by Revs. J. H. Race, A. D. Alexander, M. V. Williams, and several

laymen. Work on the building was pushed vigorously, so that it

was dedicated on March 29, 1897. The building is of wood, 32x50,

capable of seating three hundred persons. Total cost of the build-

ing, $3,200. Centenary Church gave $1,200 to this enterprise in

December, 1896. On the day of dedication a little over $2,000 was

raised, which provided for all indebtedness. Services of the day

began with a love feast at 9:30 a. m., followed by a sermon by Dr.


 


 

456 Wyoming Conference

 

M. S. Hard from Isa. xxxv, 8. In the afternoon Rev. E. B. Olm-

stead preached from Psa. cxv, 14, and in the evening Rev. J. H.

Race preached from Matt, viii, 2. M. S. Hard and J. H Race con-

ducted the finances of the day. At the close of the evening's

service Rev. L. C. Floyd dedicated the church. M. V. Williams

began work here in 1896, acting as assistant pastor of Centenary

Church. The society held their relation to Centenary Church until

the church property was paid for, when one hundred and thirty

members were transferred to form the new society, and eighty

Sunday school scholars. As soon as incorporation took place,

 

FAIRVIEW, BINGHAMTON [photo]

 

Centenary Church gave the trustees of Fairview Church a deed

of the property.

 

In 1898 a parsonage was built at a cost of $2,450, with its

furnishings, and on Sunday, December 31, 1899, $1,850 was raised

to cancel all the indebtedness of the society.

 

In the winter of 1902-03 $3,000 was expended, increasing the

size of the auditorium so as to seat five to six hundred people,

putting into the basement a League and prayer room, buying

carpets, chairs, etc., and putting a granolithic walk around the

entire property. At this writing the church has 257 members, 29

probationers, and Rev. M. V. Williams has been its only pastor.

 

 

BINGHAMTON, N. Y. CLINTON STREET

 

This church was built under the direction of the Tabernacle

Church. The lot cost $1,000, and the building with its furnish-

ings a little over $3,500. The Tabernacle Church gave $600, and


 


 

Clinton Street, Binghamton 457

 

Centenary Church $200. The Tabernacle Sunday school gave the

furnishings. A Presbyterian lady gave the stained-glass window

which ornaments the front of the building. Lieutenant Governor

E. F. Jones presented the Bible and Hymnal for the pulpit. The

church was dedicated on February 23, 1890, at 2 p. m. Dr. M. S.

Hard preached and managed the finances, and Rev. T. Harroun

dedicated the building. A debt of $1,000 was to be carried by

mortgage on the property. On the day of dedication $1,400 was

raised, which with what was raised before covered all demands.

The Conference of 1890 made Clinton Street an appointment,

 

CLINTON STREET BINGHAMTON [photo]

 

with Lestershire, a growing suburb of the city, included, and Rev.

L. B. Weeks appointed pastor. He arranged his work so as to

preach at Clinton Street in the morning and evening and at

Lestershire in the afternoon. The society began with thirty mem-

bers, most of whom were from the Tabernacle Church. On April

21, 1890, the society became incorporated as "The Clinton Street

Methodist Episcopal Church," and elected E. T. Depuy, C. E.

Bronson, E. Andrews, T. F. Elliott, R. B. Holmes, John E. De-

drick, and Clarence L. Van Valkenburg trustees. A. P. Lundy

was the first class leader, and William M. Fletcher the first super-

intendent of the Sunday school.

 

In 1891 Lestershire was made an appointment, with H. H.

Wilbur its pastor.


 


 

458 Wyoming Conference

 

Shortly after incorporation the property was transferred to the

trustees of Clinton Street Church by the Tabernacle.

 

The church struggled with patience and determination, caring

for its pastor, making some improvements, furnishing the parson-

age, and paying on its mortgage indebtedness until on October 29,

1894, it was free from debt, which event the congregation duly

celebrated.

 

The society rented a home for its pastor at 211 Clinton Street

until it purchased the house and lot at 6 Holland Street, which

was on December 10, 1895. This property was purchased for

$2,500, Mr. Whitney, from whom it was purchased, donating

$300, and the trustees gave their note for $200 and a mortgage on

the property for $2,000. This indebtedness has been reduced so

that now it is only $1,200.

 

This society has had a steady and vigorous growth.

 

Pastorates

 

1890-91, L. B. Weeks; 1892, J. W. Mevis; 1893-96, J. W.

Nicholson; 1897-1900, A. D. Decker; 1901-02, S. Moore; 1903,

W. Frisby.

 

 

BINGHAMTON, N. Y. - OAK STREET

 

Oak Street is the second child of Tabernacle Church, and was

organized with ten members. It separated from the mother

church too soon, and has had to struggle for an existence.

 

It began in a Sunday school work. A devoted Christian, living

in this part of the city, noticed a number of children running loose

on Sundays, and felt led of God to organize a Sunday school

work here. Accordingly, a school was gathered and met upstairs

in a private house on Franklin Street during the summer of 1891.

No school was held during the following winter. It was started

again in 1892 in the Sexennial Hall, on Dickinson Street. Here

the pastor of the Tabernacle Church preached on Sunday after-

noons. Subsequently meetings were held in vacant stores, halls,

lodge rooms in fact, anywhere where there was an open door.

The work was sustained by a faithful, heroic band who. were

determined to win.

 

On August 23, 1893, the society was incorporated as "Oak

Street Methodist Episcopal Church," with James Hazley, John

Newing, George Winans, John Worden, and T. B. Jacobs as

trustees.

 

In 1894 a lot was bought and a church built, which was dedi-

cated on December 20 of the same year. In 1897 the parsonage


 

Oak Street, Binghamton 459

 

with the corner lot adjoining the church and parsonage was pur-

chased, and in 1898 and 1899 the church was enlarged, giving it

a seating capacity of about three hundred.

 

The church now has one hundred and forty-six members, and

church property valued at $5,400, with an indebtedness of $3,150.

 

OAK STREET, BINGHAMTON [photo]

 

The society has been courageous, meeting fierce opposition from

other churches in that locality.

 

Pastorates

 

1894-95, W. R. Turner; 1896-98, Charles Smith; 1899-1902,

J. B. Sumner; 1903, C. H. Reynolds.

 

 

Brooklyn, Pa.

 

In 1801 Ephraim Chambers and Anning Owen were on Wy-

oming Circuit. A class was formed at Hopbottom consisting of

four members Jacob Tewksbury and wife, Silas Lewis, and

Mrs. Joshua Saunders. (It is claimed that there is a mistake here,

that Mrs. Saunders did not join until some years later.)

 

In 1804 Morris Howe and Robert Burch were on the circuit,

and the class was reported as above with a Miss or Mrs. Tracy,

afterward Mrs. Niles.


 


 

460 Wyoming Conference

 

In 1806 Christopher Frye and Alfred Griffith were on the cir-

cuit. Mrs. Garland, daughter of Jacob Tewksbury, who joined

the church about 1808 and remained a member until her death in

1868, gives the following account of Mr. Frye's labors in Hopbot-

tom: "There was quite an accession to the church this year.

Frye was as rough as a meat-ax. From the commencement the

meetings had been held in my father's kitchen. My grandfather

at first was a persecutor. My mother had been a Presbyterian,

and when she prayed it was in a low tone of voice. My grand-

father would often say to her, when in prayer, 'Pray louder, I

want to hear you.' On one occasion, when Frye was preaching,

grandfather began to weep. Mother asked Frye, after preaching.

 

BROOKLYN CHURCH [photo]

 

to let him come into class meeting. Frye had not noticed the

evidence of deep emotion in grandfather, and he answered her

very roughly, 'You know he is an old persecutor, and what do you

want him in class meeting for?' 'I believe,' said my mother, 'he

is under conviction, for I saw him weep.' 'O,' replied Frye, 'I

wish your charity bag was not quite so large.' My mother, noth-

ing daunted, brought the old gentleman in, broken-hearted, and

weeping like a child. Mrs. Saunders had never before professed

religion. But when she saw mother leading grandfather into

class meeting she started on herself, and as she entered the door

she began to shout. All seemed to catch the spirit, and such a

shout I never heard from so small a company."

 

The first class leader was Nicholas Horton, who lived ten miles

below Brooklyn Center. He was followed by Frazier Eaton, who

lived about six miles away, in Springville Hollow, and who filled

 


 


 

Brooklyn, Pa. 461

 

his appointment barefooted, when weather permitted. He was

succeeded by Jacob Tewksbury, who served the society until

about 1809, when Edward Paine, who liad just moved into the

community, was appointed leader. He served in this position

many years in fact, was the life of the society until he began

to preach.

 

The class at Hopbottom in 1811 was composed of the following

persons: Edward Paine (leader), Charlotte Paine, Hannah Mil-

bourn, Silas Lewis, Orlando Bagley, Dorcas Bagley, Betsy

Saunders, Jacob, Mary, Isaac, and Judith Tewksbury, Abigail

and Mary Saunders, Isaac and Milicent Sterling, Nancy Seeley,

Dorcas Bagley, Jr., Jacob Worthing, Sally Fuller, John and Alden

Seeley, Polly Catlin, Jesse and Polly Bagley, Jonathan Tewks-

bury, Josiah and Eliza Crofoot, Alice Lathrop, Varnum Saunders,

Dolly Bagley, Betsy Tewksbury, Polly Seeley, Sabra Tingley,

Stephen and Mary Bagley, Samuel and Huldah Yeomans, Shef-

field Saunders, Thomas Bagley, William Sterling, Lucinda Fuller,

Jonathan Worthing.

 

Meetings were held in Jacob Tewksbury 's house until 1809,

and from that time until the church was ready for occupancy in

the house of Edward Paine.

 

The following minutes have been preserved, and are of great

historic interest:

 

"At a meeting of the Methodist Episcopal church at Jesse Bag-

ley's, in Hopbottom, Bridgewater, on Thursday, the 9th of Janu-

ary, 1812, Zoar Tewksbury appointed moderator of said meeting,

Edward Paine appointed clerk and treasurer on the subject of

building a meetinghouse for the use and benefit of the Methodist

Episcopal church at this place. The following persons were

unanimously chosen as a committee to superintend the building of

said house: Edward Paine, 1st committeeman; Joshua Miles, Jr.,

2nd committeeman; Thomas Sterling, 3rd committeeman."

 

"At a meeting of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Hopbot-

tom, Bridgewater, held at Edward Paine's on the 8th day of June,

1812, on the subject of building a Methodist meetinghouse for the

use of said church and organization, voted to appoint Zoar Tewks-

bury and Jesse Bagley as an additional committee to act with the

committee appointed in January last to superintend the building

of said house also to find a proper place for said building, also

to make sale of about 33 acres of land given toward the building

of said house by Mr. John B. Wallon, landholder at Philadelphia,

as also all other business proper to be transacted by said commit-

tee relative to the erection of said church."

 


 


 

462 Wyoming Conference

 

The church was probably put up in 1813. "As soon as it was

inclosed, they put in a temporary pulpit, placed boards across the

joists for seats, in comfortable weather, and here many delightful

seasons were enjoyed." This evinces the anxiety of the people to

get into the new church. This building was torn down in 1830,

and a new one built in 1831 by Joshua Miles, Jr. In 1867 the

church was enlarged and modernized at an expense of $3,700.

The building is 40x60 feet. The bell was put in the tower at this

time. The church was dedicated on January 30, 1868, by Rev.

B. I. Ives.

 

Hopbottom was a name given by outsiders to the settlement,

intending to deride the leaping and shouting by which the Meth-

 

BARN IN WHICH ASBURY PREACHED ABOUT THE YEAR 1814 [photo]

 

odists manifested their joy. It is claimed that a revival continued

here throughout the year. Another claim for the origin of the

name is that large quantities of hops grew here. Hopbottom was

the name of the post office until changed to Brooklyn in 1825.

 

This territory was on the Wyoming Circuit until the formation

of Bridgewater Circuit in 1813. Hopbottom was the center of the

latter circuit, and gave tone to the whole. In 1831 Brooklyn be-

came the name of a circuit, of which it was the head. In 1845

the circuit gave work to three preachers and had twenty ap-

pointments, the principal of which were Brooklyn, Bridgewater,

Harford, Gibson, South Gibson, and Jackson. In 1851 the circuit

included Brooklyn, Harford, Gibson, Jackson, Bridgewater, and

part of Springville. Foster and Lakeside were formerly with

Brooklyn.


 

 


 

Brooklyn, Pa. 463

 

Brooklyn entertained Wyoming Conference in July, 1853. A

large class of probationers was received as a result of the revival

work of the Conference.

 

About 1814 Bishops Asbury and McKendree passed through

Brooklyn on their way from a Northern Conference to the Bal-

timore Conference. They held a service in the barn, of which we

give a picture, at which Bishop Asbury preached from i Sam.

XV, 14: "And Samuel said, What meaneth then this bleating of

the sheep in mine ears, and the lowing of the oxen which I hear?"

 

That the cut represents the identical barn in which the sermon

was preached is fully authenticated, though it does not now

occupy the same site that it did at that time. Many years ago it

was moved to the place it now occupies, and the addition on the

right was constructed. The large open doors show the audience

room in which the service was held.

 

In 1888 Mr. Edward L. Paine, soil of Rev. Edward Paine, who

owned the barn at the time Bishop Asbury preached in it, was a

delegate to the General Conference from the Wisconsin Confer-

ence, and the oldest layman in the body, being eighty-seven years

old. He stated on the Conference floor that he heard Bishop

Asbury preach this sermon, and was greatly moved by it.

Though a lad of only thirteen years of age, he at that time gave

his heart to God, and his hand to the Church.

 

In one of the strongholds of Universalism Methodism has held

her own and grown, and is now the leading Church of the town.

 

Pastorates

 

1804-12, with Wyoming Circuit; 1813-30, with Bridgewater

Circuit; 1831-32, Benjamin ElHs; 1833, G. Evans, L. Mumford;

1834, G. Evans; 1835, D. Torry, L. B. Bennett; 1836, I. Parks,

A. Benjamin; 1837, C. T. Stanley, B. Marshall; 1838, E. B.

Tenny, William Reddy; 1839, P- G. White, W. Reddy, Thomas

Wilcox; 1840, P. G. White, Thomas Wilcox; 1841, E. Smith,

John Davison; 1842, E. Smith, G. H. Blakeslee; 1843, William

Round, H. Brownscombe; 1844, William Round, G. H. Blakeslee;

184s, Thomas Wilcox, A. Brooks, N. S. De Witt; 1846, J. W.

Davison, A. Brooks; 1847, M. Ruger, J. W. Davison; 1848, M.

Ruger, L. D. Tryon; 1849, E. P. Williams; 1850, E. P. Williams,

D. C. Olmstead; 1851, E. W. Breckinridge, S. S. Barter, William

Shelp; 1852, E. W. Breckinridge; 1853-54, Thomas Wilcox;

1855, J. L. Staples; 1856, R. Ingalls; 1857, A. H. Schoonmaker;

1858-59, J. F. Wilbur; 1860, J. A. Wood; 1861-62, J. K. Peck;

1863-65, A. C. Sperry; 1866-67, S. F. Brown; 1868, King Elwell;


 


 

464 Wyoming Conference

 

1869, C. V. Arnold; 1870-71, P. Holbrook; 1872-73, Jonas Under-

wood; 1874-76, J. H. Weston; 1877, George Comfort; 1878-80,

G. T. Price; 1881-83, C. M. Surdam; 1884-86, F. A. King; 1887-

90, J. F. Jones; 1891-92, D. C. Barnes; 1893-94, P. G. Ruckman;

1895-96, G. F. Ace; 1897-1900, G. E. Van Woert; 1901-02, H. D.

Smith; 1903, J. B. Sumner.

 

 

Campville, N. Y.

 

According to Rev. J. M. Grimes a class was formed here about

1820. No definite records exist of those times. The village

schoolhouse was used for church purposes many years. Between

1835 and 1840 the place was visited with a sweeping revival.

Not only the schoolhouse, but the hotel and several private houses

were used, two and three services being held daily. People came

from Union, Owego, and the surrounding country in large num-

bers to attend the meetings.

 

The site for the church was bought of Roswell Camp for $100,

and the deed executed on May 28, 1856. The trustees at the time

were Isaac Van Tuyle, B. D. Montanye, H. W. Billings, Zenas

Case, Thomas Cafferty, John Carey, and Ira W. Dickinson. The

society became incorporated as "The Trustees of the First Meth-

odist Episcopal Church of Campville," on October 5, 1857, with

the above-named trustees named as having been elected on this

date. Rev. Ira W. Dickinson and James Tilbury circulated a

subscription and secured the necessary funds to erect the church.

John E. Brown and his son Jeremiah did the carpenter work. The

building was completed and dedicated in 1855. In 1897 the

church was extensively repaired, the inside being repapered,

painted, pulpit moved to the opposite end of the room, floor raised,

and several minor improvements made.

 

We are unable to state the source of its pulpit supply prior to

1853. In this year Campville appears among the list of appoint-

ments on Binghamton District. Note the following: 1853, sup-

ply; 1854, Alfred Brigham; 1855-56, S. E. Walworth. No fur-

ther mention is made of the place again in the list of appointments

until 1869, when E. Puffer is appointed to Campville. It con-

tinues among the appointments until 1883, when it is put with

Apalachin. It was served from Apalachin until 1899, when it

appears again among the appointments, with Whittemore Hill as

its out-appointment.

 

From 1853 to 1856 and in 1869 it is on the Binghamton Dis-

trict, 1870-77 on the Owego District, 1878-83 Binghamton Dis-

trict, 1884-98 Owego District, 1899 to date Binghamton District.


 


 

Campville, N. Y. 465

 

Pastorates

 

1853, supply; 1854, Alfred Brigham; 1855-56, S. E. Walworth;

1857-68, _____; 1869, E. Puffeer; 1870, J. M. Grimes; 1871, J. H.

Taylor; 1872, G. C. Andrews; 1873-74, John Allen; 1875-76,

S. E. Walworth (in 1876 Apalachin becomes a part of the

charge); 1877-78, H. C. McDermott; 1879-80, J. B. Chynoweth;

1881-82, D. W. Swetland; 1883-98, with Apalachin. We give

the Apalachin appointments: 1883-84, C. H. Basford; 1885-86,

L. W. Peck; 1887-89, N. W. Barnes; 1890-91, M. R. Kerr; 1892-

93, R. W. Lowry; 1894, S. E. Hunt; 1895, J. R. Allen; 1896-97,

S. H. Flory; 1898, A. C. Brackenbury. Campville and Whitte-

more Hill, 1899, O. H. P. Armstrong; 1900, E. McMillen; 1901,

W. D. Lathrop; 1902-03, O. H. P. Armstrong.

 

Whittemore Hill. Work began here at a very early day, so far

back that the oldest inhabitants cannot recall it. Meetings were

held in the schoolhouse prior to the building of the church, and

some quarterly meetings were held in Isaac Whittemore's barn.

A meeting for incorporating the society was held at the house of

Isaac Whittemore on the 24th of November, 1851, and John E.

Brown, Isaac Whittemore, David Cornell, Willard Bowker, and

Levi S. Wales were elected trustees.

 

The lot was given the church that is, the church may have it

so long as it is used for church purposes. The church cost about

$500 when built, and was dedicated on Thursday, August 19,

1852. The dedicatory sermon was by Dr. Paddock, the presiding

elder, from Exod. xx, 24. During the winter of 1883-84 the

church was thoroughly repaired at a cost of $635. It was re-

opened on February 20, 1884, Rev. J. G. Eckman preaching the

sermon from I John iii, 2. The sum of $135 was asked, and $151

received. The ladies did the furnishing at a cost of $75. In 1887

one fourth of an acre of land was bought of Alvin Whittemore

for additional shed room for $20. The organ was purchased in

1889, costing $65.

 

This society has been connected with Union, Campville, Union,

and again with Campville, where it has been since 1899.

 

 

Dalton, Pa.

 

Dalton in early times was called Bailey Hollow. A class was

organized here in 1865 by Rev. C. E. Taylor, who was pastor of

Abington Circuit (Waverly, Pa.). During 1866 and 1867 it

formed a part of Newton Circuit. In 1868 it was put back into

Abington Circuit, and remained there until 1883, when it became


 


 

466 Wyoming Conference

 

a part of the Factoryville charge. Here it remained until 1893,

when it was made a separate charge.

 

From 1865 until 1875 the society worshiped in the Six Prin-

ciple Baptist Church, holding prayer meetings at the houses of

the members. In 1874 the lot for a church was bought for $600.

The following year a modest chapel, costing about the same

amount, was built and dedicated. In 1887 and 1888 this was re-

placed by the present structure, which cost about $3,500. It was

dedicated on July 29, 1888, Dr. M. S. Hard preaching at 10:30

A. M., and Rev. Thomas Harroun at 2:30 p. m. Several hundred

 

DALTON CHURCH [photo]

 

dollars have been expended in repairs from time to time, so that

the building is in good repair.

 

The parsonage was commenced in November, 1895, and finished

in April, 1896, and is one of the best parsonages on the district,

costing about $4,000. A formal opening occurred on May 14,

1896. Exercises were held in the afternoon and evening.

Revs. W. H. Pearce, L. C. Floyd, S. Jay, H. H. Wilbur, J. L.

Thomas, F. H. Parsons, F. W. Young, and J. H. Race were pres-

ent and participated in the services. At the evening service con-

tributions were received which reduced the indebtedness to

$1,500, which is in the form of a mortgage.

 

Fleetville. Early in the summer of 1893, at the invitation of

John S. Clarkson, the Rev. Burton N. Butts, pastor of the North


 


 

Dalton, Pa. 467

 

Abington Circuit, began holding meetings on alternate Wednes-

day evenings in the village of Fleetville. These services were

held in the Universalist church, which was rented for this pur-

pose. Later in the same year the Rev. S. J. Austin, pastor at

Glenwood, was invited to serve the people, as he could preach on

alternate Sunday mornings. A class was organized in 1895, with

Thomas Carpenter as leader, consisting of about twenty-five mem-

bers. Rev. S. J. Austin was appointed pastor, and steps were

taken toward the erection of a church building. John S. Clarkson,

Thomas Carpenter, and Judson S. Mullinex were elected trustees.

 

DALTON PARSONAGE [photo]

 

Within a short time several changes were made in the board of

trustees, but on the 23d of August, 1895, for the consideration of

$50, a lot was deeded to Thomas Carpenter, Ansel Carpenter, and

C. W. Green, then trustees of the First Methodist Episcopal

Church of Fleetville. Ground was broken and work begun for

the erection of the church edifice some time in November, 1895.

The work was carried forward by a building committee consist-

ing of J. S. Clarkson, F. B. Davidson, M.D., and Thomas Car-

penter. These hired George Davis, of Parsons, as foreman, and

proceeded with the work without contract. The cost of the build-

ing in labor and materials was about $2,500. The dedicatory


 


 

468 Wyoming Conference

 

services were held on January 28, 1897. They were in charge of

the Rev. L. C. Floyd, Ph.D., presiding elder of the Binghamton

District, assisted by the pastor and the Rev. Austin Griffin, D.D.,

presiding elder of the Oneonta District. At the dedication there

was left an indebtedness of $1,000, not covered by subscription.

For this debt J. S. Clarkson and Thomas Carpenter became per-

sonally responsible. The Ladies' Aid Society deserves a word of

special commendation for heroic efforts not only in raising and

paying a subscription of $300, but also for their continued strug-

gle to reduce the debt since their subscription has been paid. The

debt is now about $460.

 

Beginning with the April after dedication, Fleetville was served

by the Factoryville pastor till the Conference of 1898, when Fleet-

ville was put with Dalton, where it has since remained. The

society was formally chartered on July 29, 1901, with John S.

Clarkson, Thomas Carpenter, Ansel Carpenter, Z. Ferris Wallace,

and F. B. Davison, M.D., as trustees.

 

Pastorates

 

1893-94, J. R. Angel; 1895-97, C. H. Newing; 1898-99, J. C.

Leacock; 1900-01, A. W. Cooper; 1902-03, A. J. Van Cleft.

 

 

Endicott, N. Y.

 

The projectors of the booming town of Endicott, the Endicott-

Johnson Company, gave Methodism four nicely located lots in

Endicott worth from $1,500 to $2,000. A small chapel was

erected in 1902 which is now answering the needs of the society.

On December 5, 1902, the society incorporated, with H. F. Wil-

bur, Harvey S. Thayer, and Sherman Zimmer as trustees. The

Johnson brothers are to build a church here in memory of their

mother, who was a devoted Methodist. This society has great

promise.

 

In 1903 J. N. Goodrich was appointed pastor. Up to this time

the Union pastor had given the field pastoral oversight.

 

 

Factoryville, Pa.

 

The first settlers in this vicinity were Baptists, and Elder John

Miller began his ministry among them about 1802. Shortly after

this the itinerant preacher found his way thither and began to

hold meetings. "Mother" Taylor, wife of Preserved Taylor, who


 


 

Factoryville, Pa. 469

 

lived on the hill above the village, on the farm now owned by

Albina Stanton, is claimed to have been the first Methodist in

this vicinity. Meetings were held in her house at an early day,

say from 1820 to 1825. Some of the older members used to say

they had heard Rev. John Copeland preach here with great unction

and power. What was known as the "square-top" schoolhouse

was built in 1825, and stood near where the railroad depot stands.

Preaching services were held in this schoolhouse, and a class was

 

FACTORYVILLE CHURCH [photo]

 

in existence here as early as 1830. Here, and about this time,

"Aunt" Eunice Gardner united with the church.

 

The society was small and struggling until 1848 or 1849, when

a great revival brought numerous accessions.

 

In its early days this class was on the Wyoming Circuit. John

Copeland was on the Wyoming Circuit in 1825. It is evident that

it held its relation to this circuit until after this time. It is con-

jectured that it may have been with the Bridgewater Circuit for a

short time, though this is doubtful. At the formation of the

Abington Circuit, in 1841, Factoryville and West Abington

formed a part of the circuit. From 1843 to 1845 it formed an

appointment, and from 1846 to 1851 it was with Abington again.

From 1852 to 1853 it was on Newton Circuit, and in 1854 it be-

came a part of the Nicholson Circuit, where it remained until

1868, when it became a separate charge.

 

The first church at Factoryville was built in 1854. It was

30x42 feet, and cost $850. It was dedicated on December 29,


 


 

470 Wyoming Conference

 

1854, by Dr. George Peck, presiding elder of the district. The

charge then included Nicholson, West Nicholson, Factoryville,

and East Lemon.

 

In 1878 the church was rebuilt, enlarged, refurnished, a

tower and bell added, at a total cost of $1,800. The reopening

services occurred on October 2, 1878, Rev. J. E. Smith, of Wilkes-

Barre, preaching at 11 a. m., and Rev. William Bixby, presiding

elder of the district, preaching at 7 p. m.

 

In 1889 the church was again rebuilt. The old church was

converted into a Sunday school and prayer room, and an audi-

 

FACTORYVILLE PARSONAGE [photo]

 

torium 42x50 feet built onto it, with an opening between so that

the Sunday school room may be used with the auditorium on

extra occasions. The total cost of these improvements was

$3,195. The dedicatory services were held on December 10, 1889.

Dr. W. L. Phillips, of Wilkes-Barre, preached in the morning,

and Rev. J. G. Eckman in the evening. During the day $1,000

was raised. At the close of the evening service the church was

dedicated by the presiding elder. Rev. Thomas Harroun.

 

In 1899 a pipe organ was put into the church, which, with the

annex built in the rear of the pulpit to hold it, cost $1,650.

 

The first parsonage was built in 1855, standing on the site now

occupied by the residence of Dr. Heller. This was rebuilt and


 


 

Factoryville, Pa. 471

 

enlarged in 1872. About 1885 this property was exchanged with

Dr. George A. Brundage for the property adjoining the church,

where the parsonage now stands.

 

In 1895 the old parsonage was moved of? and the present

beautiful and commodious house built. It has few superiors, if

any, on the district, and cost $3,250, the first $1,000 of which

came as a legacy under the will of John H. Pelham, for many

years a devoted member of the church. A house-warming was

held in the latter part of December, 1895. Friday afternoon a

service was held in the church, and in the evening a platform

meeting was held, in which speeches were made by several former

pastors. Saturday afternoon Rev. H. C. McDermott preached.

Rev. J. O. Woodrulif presiding. On Sunday morning Rev. M. S.

Hard, D.D., preached, and after the sermon raised $1,000, the

balance needed to pay for the parsonage, and $150 toward a new

organ for the church.

 

In 1867 two pastors were on Nicholson charge E. N. Hynson

and T. B. Jayne. Hynson lived at Factoryville, and Jayne at

Nicholson. They exchanged appointments every other Sunday.

 

In August, 1866, the pastor, D. Worrall, died, and the balance

of the year was filled by Rev. J. V. Newell, then living at

Springville.

 

The charge experienced extensive revivals in the years 1848 or

1849, 1872, 1886, 1893, and 1901.

 

James Hoben came from England in 1820 and settled here. He

was a class leader many years, and died about 1860, leaving one

daughter, who survived him about twenty years. At her decease

she left the balance of her estate as a legacy to the church, which

was used in the exchange of property with Dr. Brundage, and

enlarging the house. Alanson Ridgeway was a class leader here

from 1848 to 1880, and S. W. Ingham served in this relation from

1865 to 1872. Amos Caryl has been a class leader here from 1878

to 1903, and for some years past has been assistant superintendent.

James Wrigley is now a class leader, having served about eleven

years. Charles Gardner has been chorister and Sunday school

superintendent almost continuously since 1860, and is now acting

in both capacities. A. T. Brundage, M.D., has held the relation

of local preacher here many years.

 

West Abington. The church here was dedicated on January

15, 1853. Rev. George Peck preached in the morning, and Rev.

William Wyatt in the evening. This society was taken from the

Newton Circuit and put with Factoryville about 1872.


 


 

472 Wyoming Conference

 

Pastorates

 

1843-44, Peter S. Worden; 1845, A. G. Burlingame; 1846-51,

with Abington; 1852-53, with Newton; 1854-67, with Nicholson;

1868, E. F. Roberts; 1869-70, E. M. High; 1871-73, J. S. Lewis;

1874-75, P- R- Tower; 1876-78, D. C. Barnes; 1879-81, A. J.

Cook; 1882-84, H. C. McDermott; 1885-87, Thomas Harroun;

1888-91, O. L. Severson; 1892-93, W. R. Turner; 1894-97, H. H.

Wilbur; 1898-1900, W. M. Hiller; 1901-02, J. N. Lee; 1903, L. D.

Palmer.

 

 

Fairdale, Pa.

 

In 1866 Fairdale charge was taken from Montrose Circuit. In

early days.it was a part of Bridgewater Circuit; an appointment

or two, however, may have been with the Vestal Circuit. At the

time it was taken from Montrose it had six preaching places on

the charge Fairdale, Town's (now Forest Lake), Devine Ridge,

Taylor Hollow, Dimock, and Bolles. With the exception of Fair-

dale and Town's, which had church buildings, these were school-

house appointments. The class leaders at this time were: David

Olmstead, Fairdale; J. S. Town, Forest Lake Center; John P.

Devine, Devine Ridge; Willard Weston, Taylor Hollow; P. J.

Gates, Dimock; Clark Whitaker, Bolles schoolhouse. The stew-

ards were: Marvin Hall and Elias Jagger, Fairdale; F. J. Rey-

nolds and William J. Gorden, Forest Lake Center; Parker Devine,

Devine Ridge; P. J. Gates, Dimock; S. D. Cornell, Taylor Hollow.

There were two trustees, both living at Forest Lake Center Suel

Warner and N. R. Cole.

 

Fairdale. Just when the first church was built at Fairdale we

are unable to state, but a new one costing $3,500 was built in

1868, L. H. Lincoln being the contractor. It was dedicated on

November 25, 1868, by B. I. Ives, the evening sermon being by

A. J. Arnold. On December 5, 1868, the Quarterly Conference

elected seven trustees to look after this property Benjamin

Shay, Marvin Hall, David Olmstead, Elias Jagger, Zenas Smith,

J. W. Rundle, and Rev. William Shelp.

 

On November 9, 1867, the Quarterly Conference authorized

the pastor to circulate a subscription to secure a parsonage. The

scheme proved successful, and a house and lot opposite the church

was bought of Zenas Smith for $1,000. Deed for this property

was given in 1873. In 1877 a new barn was built, and in 1886 a

new parsonage replaced the old one. Since the circuit was or-

ganized Fairdale Church has been served by the following stew-


 


 

Fairdale, Pa. 473

 

ards: Marvin Hall, Elias Jagger, Benjamin Shay, Joseph Stuger,

Robert Pettit, W. R. Walker, James Robinson, Paul Miller,

Thomas Beaumont, John A. Robertson, Milton Ray, George M.

Olmstead, Nelson Cool, H. C. Bertholf, M. Cronk, Charles Cronk,

Dr. H. M. Fry, L. De Witt, and Oliver Warner.

 

In 1899 improvements were made amounting to $450, which

included a stone platform 8x24 feet in front of the church, stone

walk from church to parsonage, a grove of maple trees set around

the church, painting, and some minor changes.

 

Forest Lake Center. A class known as the Town class was or-

ganized as early as 1834, with Jonathan West as leader, and the

meetings were held in his house, near Forest Lake, but were soon

after transferred to the house of John S. Town, near the present

church. Besides the Town and West families, Rosanna Deuel,

Lorain Peat, and Mary Austin belonged to the first class. In 1841

the class had thirty-two members, some of whom were Bertha

Warner, Francis and Sarah Southwell, and Elmer Cobb. In

1848 a church, which was dedicated by Rev. D. A. Shepard, was

built on the farm of John S. Town. This was enlarged in 1871

by an addition of twelve feet to its length, and the erection of a

thirty-foot tower, at a cost of $800. The work was done by

William J. Gorden. The dedicatory services were conducted by

Rev. J. K. Peck on November 25, 1871.

 

In 1861-62 a revival of great power visited this community, re-

sulting in sixty conversions and an accession of forty-five mem-

bers. Rev. J. F. Warner entered the ministry from this church.

His brother, Asa, is a local preacher here, receiving his license in

1877. He has been class leader here since 1871, has served several

years as Sunday school superintendent, and has been recording

steward about twenty-five years.

 

Until the formation of Fairdale charge this class was a part of

the Vestal Circuit.

 

The following have served as stewards for this appointment:

W. J. Gorden, F. J. Reynolds, Suel Warner, L. H. Lincoln, Asa

Warner, W. H. Allen, A. F. Otis, J. W. Hoag.

 

Fair Hill. For some time this class held its services in Taylor

Hollow, and then at the schoolhouse in the Chapman district. In

1867 the appointment was changed to the house of Samuel D.

Cornell. Mr. Cornell is said to have been the pioneer Methodist

of this section, having been a member fifty-seven years when he

died in 1881. Other early members were Zephaniah, Ella, and

Alice Cornell, the Orlando Green family, the Jagger, Lewis, and


 


 

474 Wyoming Conference

 

Shelp families. After the formation of the Fairdale charge

preaching was maintained with greater regularity, and with good

results. A lot was secured from the old Cornell farm and a

church built costing $1,200, William Darrow being the builder.

It was dedicated by Rev. I. T. Walker on November 26, 1877.

The building committee included G. T. Lewis, H. S. Conklin, and

O. E. Green. The society became incorporated on June 26, 1879,

with G. T. Lewis, E. Jagger, H. S. Conklin, R. L. Baxter, and

F. D. Terwilliger as trustees.

 

This class has been served by the following stewards: S. D.

Cornell, Hiram Whitney, G. L. Lewis, O. E. Green, Hiram L.

Ball, R. S. Baxter, H. S. Conklin, E. C. Baldwin, J. R. Fox,

William Darrow, Catherine Jagger, M. J. Crisman, and Z. Linsley.

 

For some years work was carried on at Devine Ridge. A church

costing about $1,600 was built in 1867-68, William J. Gorden be-

ing the contractor. This was largely done through the generosity

of George Devine and his five sons, who lived in the inimediate

vicinity. The building was 30x40, and was dedicated on July 4,

 

1868, Rev. D. C. Olmstead preaching in the afternoon from Gal.

iv, 18, and Rev. J. L. Legg in the evening from Phil, iv, 13. This

class was served by the following stewards: Joseph P. Devine,

George W. Devine, W. H. Deuel, John P. Devine, and Lott

Devine.

 

By action of the Quarterly Conference on April 29, 1889, this

appointment was discontinued, the title to the property reverting

to its original owners.

 

The appointments at Dimock and Bolles had been dropped in

 

1869. Thus the charge was left with three appointments, Fair-

dale, Forest Lake Center, and Fair Hill.

 

Pastorates

 

1866, William Shelp; 1867, I. P. Towner, W. Shelp; 1868-69,

L P. Towner; 1870-71, S. Elwell; 1872-74, E. W. Breckinridge;

187s, J. D. Woodruff; 1876-77, M. E. Bramhall; 1878-79, J. F.

Jones; 1880, P. Holbrook; 1881-83, A. F. Harding; 1884-85,

T. M. Furey; 1886-88, J. S. Lewis; 1889-91, E. P. Eldridge;

1892-96, G. L. Williams; 1897-99, Thomas Eva; 1900-03, W. R.

Cochrane.

 

 

Falls, Pa.

 

This charge was formed in 1888, being taken from Newton

Circuit. At this time it was on Wyoming District, but in 1891 it

was put on Binghamton District, where it has since remained.


 


 

Falls, Pa. 475

 

Falls. It is claimed that the first Methodist preachers in this

section held services at Keeler's Ferry as early as 1810. In 1813

a camp meeting was held on the farm of Abraham Holmes (owned

in 1880 by A. T. De Witt). Meetings were held at the homes of

John Osterhout, John Weiss, and others, and at times in groves

along the river. Revs. Philo Barbary, Horace Agard, George

Peck, C. W. Giddings, Silas Comfort, S. Stocking, E. Taney,

Benjamin Ellis, V. M. Coryell, and George Lane visited this

locality. There were several Methodist families around the Falls

who gave these itinerants welcome, but we have no record of

the time, or by whom, the first class was formed at that place.

 

In 1866 the society was visited with a gracious revival, and a

large number were added to the Church. On April 8, 1867, a

lot was bought of Daniel Dobra, and on the 27th of April, 1871,

a charter was granted for the "First Methodist Episcopal Church

of Falls Township," with Hon. Henry Roberts, Stephen Clark,

Samuel G. Miller, William Compton, Henry Turn, A. M. De

Witt, and Thomas Brown as trustees. A church was soon built,

costing about $2,000, which was dedicated on July 15, 1872, by

Rev. George P. Porter. It has since been repaired at an expense

of several hundred dollars.

 

Mill City. The time of the organization of the class in Mill

City is doubtful. Preaching services had been held here more

than thirty years before the society was incorporated. We know

a class existed in 1848, with Michael Walter as leader. On

November 25, 1870, the society was incorporated with Chauncey

Sherwood, Michael Walter, D. C. Post, John Patrick, and Francis

Hough as trustees. On the 24th of December, 1872, a lot,

100x125 feet, was bought of William H. Walter, and the erection

of a church commenced. The building cost about $2,500, and was

dedicated on January 1, 1874. Preaching in the morning by Rev.

D. D. Lindsley, and in the evening by Rev. L. Peck.

 

Lake Winola. The class was organized at this place on April 2,

1854, by Rev. D. A. Shepard, Daniel Ross being made the class

leader, with David Osterhout his assistant. Meetings were held in

the schoolhouse, near where the church now stands, until the

church was erected. This society was incorporated in August,

1870, with Samuel Shook, Thomas Hough, Charles Frear, James

Stevens, and Lyman Swartz as trustees. A church was erected,

costing $2,478, which was dedicated by Rev. R. Nelson, in Sep-

tember, 1871.

 

In 1894 the parsonage at Mill City was purchased at a cost of


 


 

476 Wyoming Conference

 

$1,650, a small portion of which was paid at the time of purchase,

and the balance was paid in the succeeding four years. During

the years 1890-92 sixty probationers were received, fifty of whom

came into full membership. From 1893 to 1894 one hundred and

sixteen were received on probation, thirty-seven of whom united

with the church in full; and from 1895 to 1897 forty-five joined

the church on probation, thirty-one of whom joined in full

membership.

 

Pastorates

 

1888, G. M. Chamberlain; 1889, R. P. Christopher; 1890-92,

G. B. Stone; 1893-94, C. H. Newing; 1895-97, D. C. Barnes;

1898-1899, W. R. Cochrane; 1900, T. R. Warnock; 1901, P.

Houck; 1902-03, A. Wrigley.

 

 

Foster, Pa.

 

Until Hopbottom and Lakeside were made a charge in 1895,

they were on the Brooklyn Circuit. Foster is the name of the

railroad station, from which the charge takes its name, but the

name of the post office is Hopbottom.

 

The church at Foster, or Hopbottom, is the outgrowth of an

appointment made years ago at Anthony Wright's, on Martin

Creek, a mile above the village. In 1849 a Sunday school was

organized in Anthony Wright's kitchen, with Mrs. Sarah B.

Wright, wife of Dr. Samuel Wright, as superintendent. The

school became a permanent institution. In 1850 Anthony Wright

set aside an acre of ground, to which a small frame building was

moved and fitted up for church purposes. The ground around it

was used for burial purposes, and now forms a part of Lathrop

Cemetery.

 

The immediate spur to the building of a church grew out of a

revival which was held in the schoolhouse during the winter of

1869. The directors objected to the services on the ground that

they interfered with school work. On the last night meetings

were held in the schoolhouse the pastor arose and stated the case,

and asked if there were not some place where the meetings might

be continued. Squire Tingley offered his house. Dr. Wright said

his house was open from garret to cellar. Mr. Tingley's house

was chosen, as it was more conveniently located. Two services

were held here, when Mr. Case offered a large room in his house,

which was accepted. Elisha Bell owned the hall used by the Good

Templars, and offered it free of charge.

 

In 1870 a lot was given by William P. Crandall, located on the


 


 

Foster, Pa. 477

 

hill, near the schoolhouse. A church 35x50 feet was erected, with

tower and bell, the whole costing $3,200. The building committee

were William P. Crandall, Emanuel Carpenter, and Dr. Samuel

Wright. The church was dedicated on December 15, 1870, by

Rev. B. I. Ives, and $1,800 was raised on the day of dedication to

complete paying for the church. It was thought to be impossible

to raise this amount; but Messrs. Wright, Crandall, Squire, and

Gavitt each gave $200, which gave the work such a start that the

full amount was reached. This was considered a remarkable vic-

tory. On August 17, 1871, the society became incorporated. This

church was the first one to be erected in Lathrop township.

 

Time made it manifest that it was desirable to move into the

 

FOSTER CHURCH [photo]

 

central part of the village. Accordingly, the old church was torn

down in 1889 and a new one erected on the present site, which

was dedicated on January 26, 1890. On Sunday morning, Octo-

ber 20, 1895, several buildings in the village were burned to the

ground. The fire was caused by the explosion of a lamp in a

store. The church was burned with the other buildings. An in-

surance of $2,000 furnished a fund with which to start rebuilding.

Work was immediately begun, and the present church was dedi-

cated on Tuesday, March 3, 1896, Rev. J. H. Race preaching the

sermon and raising $800.

 

The parsonage was nearly completed at the time the church

burned.

 

The revival work of the winter of 1869-70 at Hopbottom and


 


 

478 Wyoming Conference

 

Lakeside added one hundred and thirty-two members to the

church.

 

Lakeside. A goodly number were brought into the church as

the result of revival work held in the schoolhouse in the winter of

1869-70. The need of a church was felt, and steps at once taken

to secure one. It was begun in the fall of 1870, and dedicated by

Rev. B. I. Ives on February 16, 1871, when $1,000 was raised to

liquidate the indebtedness. Rev. B. I. Ives preached in the after-

noon, and King Elwell in the evening. The church is situated on

the east side and just above a beautiful lake of about fifty acres,

between Nicholson and Hopbottom. The church and site cost

$2,600. The trustees at the time of building the church were

J. C. Miller, Jesse Silvius, and B. T. Strickland. A part of the

families of Sidney Osborn, J. F. Gray, John Waterman, Jesse

Silvius, William Johnson, Zophar Mackey, J. C. Miller, B. T.

Strickland, and Mr. Thayer were brought into the kingdom about

this time.

 

Shortly after the building of the church this class was put with

the West Nicholson charge, where it remained until 1895, when it

was put with Hopbottom.

 

Pastorates

 

1895-96, C. P. Tififany; 1897-98, G. L. Williams; 1899-1900, S.

Homan; 1901-02, A. O. Austin; 1903, B. N. Butts.

 

 

Franklin Forks, Pa.

 

In 1804 a half dozen persons residing here formed themselves

into a class, Daniel Blowers, William Burrows, Elizabeth Bur-

rows, and Isaac Apsbey being among its members. Meetings

were held monthly, and usually on week days. The growth of

the class was riot rapid. Its members, however, were zealous and

persistent. Services were held for many years in the schoolhouse.

The lot was bought on November 21, 1867, of Margaret S. Stil-

well. A church 32x50 feet, and costing $2,000, was erected, and

dedicated in 1871 by Rev. W. H. Olin, $1,000 being raised on the

day of dedication. John Ives and Samuel Truesdale were the

builders. The building committee included B. C. Vance, Lewis

Tompkins, D. D. Lindsley, William and A. S. Burrows. A bell

was put in the tower in 1898.

 

The parsonage is located at Franklin Forks, and was built in

1874. In 1900 the building was raised and a cellar built under it,

at a cost of $150.

 

The appointments of this charge were on the Hawleyton Cir-


 


 

Franklin Forks, Pa. 479

 

cuit until 1873, when they were constituted a charge, under the

name of Pleasant Valley. The name was changed to Franklin

Forks in 1876.

 

Brookdale. Meetings were held in the northern part of Liberty

township soon after its settlement, but no organization was ef-

fected at that time. Among the early members were Peter Gun-

saulus and family, James Travis and family, Ruth Stanford, and

a few others. Meetings were held in the Bailey schoolhouse (now

removed). In 1851 a revival was held in this schoolhouse, in

which a goodly nurhber were converted. A class was formed,

Daniel Brown, D. D. Stanford, Charles Stanford, William Stan-

ford, Harry Northrup, and their wives, being among the number.

During the year others joined. In 1852 a brick church 36x40

was built on the turnpike in the hamlet of Stanfordville. It was

used regularly until destroyed by a cyclone on July 2, 1883. Sub-

sequently meetings were held in the Presbyterian church at Laws-

ville Center, one mile above the old church.

 

The present church was dedicated on March 29, 1898, by Revs.

L. C. Floyd and H. M. Crydenwise. The building cost $1,400.

During the erection of this church the pastor gave one half

of his salary received from Brookdale appointment toward the

enterprise.

 

Pastorates

 

1873-74, G. C. Andrews; 1875, W. C. Fiske; 1876-77, A. W.

Cooper; 1878-79, W. F. Boyce; 1880, J. F. Jones; 1881-82, W. C.

Norris; 1883-85, J. W. Hewitt; 1886-87, A. G. Bloomfield; 1888-

89, C. O. Bramhall; 1890, Philip Twining; 1891-92, J. B. Wilson;

1893-96, E. D. Cook; 1897-98, G. D. Fisher; 1899, Ernest Col-

well; 190Q, J. H. Taylor; 1901, E. McMillen; 1902-03, G. L.

Williams.

 

 

Gibson, Pa.

 

It is believed that Christopher Frye preached the first Methodist

sermon in Gibson. If so, it was in the year Frye and Griffith

traveled the Wyoming Circuit, 1806. Mrs. Margaret Bennett and

George Williams were the first Methodists in the place, Mrs.

Bennett moving to the place in 1808, and Mr. Williams in 1809.

Mrs. Bennett first joined the Baptists at Hopbottom, and soon

afterward the Methodists of that place. Mr. Williams also joined

the Methodists at Hopbottom (Brooklyn). Both had been

Methodists in the East. Mrs. Bennett lived on Union Hill and

was familiarly known as "Aunt Peggy." She used to ride on

horseback from her home to Jacob Tewksbury's in Brooklyn, a


 


 

480 Wyoming Conference

 

distance of twelve miles, to attend prayer meeting. Mr. Frye

preached the sermon referred to in the home of a Mr. Brundage,

a Baptist, on what was afterward called the Thomas place, near

where the church now stands.* Subsequently meetings were held

in James Bennett's house and barn, according to the season of

the year.

 

The class was organized in 1812 by Rev. Elijah King, who was

at that time on Broome Circuit. George Williams, a bachelor,

was leader for many years. The other members of the first class

were Margaret Bennett, Sarah Willis, afterward the wife of

 

GIBSON CHURCH [photo]

 

John Belcher, Susanna Fuller, Joseph Williams, and Jemima

Washburne. Mrs. Ingalls with her two daughters and four sons

joined soon after the class was organized. Rosman, one of the

sons, became a Methodist preacher. After Major Lamb and

family moved to the place and lived in the Skyrin house, 1815-18,

meetings were occasionally held in his house. Sometimes they

were held in the house of David Tarbox, and subsequently in the

schoolhouse at Burrows Hollow.

 

The territory of this charge was evidently part of the Bridge-

water Circuit. In 1819, when Rev. George Peck was on the circuit,

 

*Miss Emily C. Blackman, who has compiled a history of Susquehanna County,

thinks this is a mistake; that it should he the Holmes place, near where the Kennedy

Hill church stood, before its removal to South Gibson.


 


 

Gibson, Pa. 481

 

he found some of the above-named "pillars in the little church

in Gibson." It naturally became a part of Brooklyn Circuit

at its formation, and remained here until the Gibson charge was

formed.

 

The first church was on Kennedy Hill. When the present

structure was erected the Kennedy Hill church was sold to the

South Gibson society. The present church was begun in 1868

and finished the following year. It was dedicated on June 3, 1869,

Rev. R. Nelson preaching in the afternoon and Rev. Henry

Wheeler in the evening. The building is 38x56, with a lecture

room in the rear 27x32 feet. The church and furnishings cost

$11,500. A writer describing it at the time said: "The taste,

personal supervision, and painstaking liberality of Judge Burrows

have been strikingly manifest in the projection and completion of

the enterprise." Judge Urbane Burrows moved to this locality in

1819. From 1856 to 1861 he was associate judge of the Susque-

hanna County Court. From him the place gets the name of Bur-

rows Hollow. He was a thrifty merchant, public-spirited citizen,

and an enthusiastic Methodist. He had much to do with the

planning of the building, and gave personal oversight to its con-

struction. It is not known just how much he contributed toward

the enterprise, over half, some say two thirds.

 

The parsonage is located at Gibson. Rev. Rosman Ingalls

deeded his home to the society on condition that the society, within

one year after his death, pay the trustees of Wyoming Conference

$400. This was done in the fall of 1883. One pastor only oc-

cupied this house. Rev. J. R. Wagner. Mrs. Chauncey Lamb left

her house to the church, stipulating that one half the proceeds

from its use be given to missions and one half to worn-out preach-

ers. This house is now used as a parsonage, and the Ingalls

property has been sold.

 

In 1871 a revival here added fifty-four to the church. About

1882 Urbane Burrows gave by will $3,000 to the society, the in-

terest of which is to be used for the support of the pastor,

perpetually.

 

South Gibson. Mrs. Fitch Ressiguie was the leading spirit of

this class at the time of its formation in 1838. The class was

organized by Rev. William Reddy, who was one of the preachers

on Brooklyn Circuit at that time. This was in the first school-

house, built by H. P. Miller, and located near his home, on what

is now known as the Wilbur Gardner property. This class

consisted of Fitch Ressiguie, Benjamin Snyder, his son James


 


 

482 Wyoming Conference

 

Snyder, Asa Howard, Michael Belcher, and their wives. Michael

Belcher was the first class leader.

 

In the day of turnpikes Gibson Hill was the central point for

miles around. About the time the class was organized a revival

occurred which had a far-reaching effect. Among those who

joined the society at this time were Charles Edwards, James

Chandler, Wesley Carpenter, Hamilton Bonner, and their wives,

and Miss Mindwell Sparks. The first quarterly meeting was

held the ensuing summer, in Fitch Ressiguie's barn. People

 

SOUTH GIBSON CHURCH [photo]

 

came from all points on the charge Brooklyn, Jackson, and Ken-

nedy Hill. Of this occasion Mrs. Manzer (she who was Miss

Mindwell Sparks) wrote: "I remember with pleasure the event.

The multitude had come on Saturday from Brooklyn, and many

miles away, to enjoy the Saturday and Sunday morning services,

and especially the love feast; and how to dispose of so many for

the night, in a neighborhood so sparsely settled, was a question

submitted to Sister Ressiguie, who, in her Christian benevolence,

characteristic always of herself, replied, '0, well, I can keep as

many as there are hoards on the floor.' Owing to her mathe-

matical genius forty persons were comfortably lodged and fed

under her hospitable roof."


 


 

South Gibson, Pa. 483

 

Difficulties arose between the Methodists and Freewill Baptists

concerning the use of the schoolhouse. Each had occupied it

alternately. The Methodists now deemed it wise to build a

church. James Chandler, Asa Howard, and Charles Edwards

were appointed a building committee. They met at Fitch

Ressiguie's house with the pastor and Urbane Burrows. Mr.

Burrows started the subscription list with $50. In a short time

subscriptions enough were secured to insure the success of the

enterprise. The church was located on Fitch Ressiguie's land,

on the lot now used as a cemetery, and was dedicated in January,

1841, by Rev. J. M. Snyder.

 

"In 1853 this class was taken from the Brooklyn Circuit and

put with Harford. Harford Circuit at this time included Har-

ford, Wade's, South Gibson, Kentuck, Burrows Hollow, East

Hill, Smiley, Heine's, Gibson Hill, Jackson Center, Cargill's,

North Jackson, Savory's, Page's Pond, and Sweet's." This state-

ment has reference to the circuit in 1853. In this year Gibson

charge was created, and consequently could not have been a part

of Harford Circuit. As Harford does not appear as a charge

until 1868, it is probable that the writer quoted above should have

said Gibson instead of Harford.

 

In the latter part of October, 1853, Wesley Carpenter invited

Rev. S. Weiss, one of the preachers on the charge, to conduct a

series of revival services in the schoolhouse near Wade's tavern.

The meetings continued six weeks, resulting in about one hundred

conversions. Nearly every home in the vicinity became a praying

one. In 1870 another revival occurred in which fourteen heads of

families came into the church.

 

The main part of the present church is the Kennedy Hill

church. The frame, outside covering of walls, wainscoting, pews,

and doors of the Kennedy Hill church are in this building. A

lecture room was added in the rear, similar to the lecture room at

Gibson. The church was dedicated on Wednesday, June 29, 1870,

by Rev. B. I. Ives.

 

South Gibson has not continuously been a part of Gibson

charge.

 

Two women of this society have been eminently useful Mrs.

Mary Tewksbury Ressiguie, and Mrs. Mindwell Manzer, the

latter having done considerable evangelistic work.

 

The following have served as class leaders: Michael Belcher,

Asa Howard, Charles Edwards, Hamilton Bonner, James Snyder,

Wesley Carpenter, Charles Bennett, Elisha Keech, and George C.

Brundage. The latter served over thirty years.


 


 

484 Wyoming Conference

 

Pastorates

 

1853-54, R. Ingalls, S. W. Weiss; 1855, W. Round, M. Car-

rier; 1856, W. Round, L. Peck; 1857, L. Peck, W. W. Welch;

1858, W. W. Welch, J. Whitham; 1859, D. Worrall; 1860, D.

Worrall, W. H. Gavitt; 1861, J. V. Newell; 1862, W. B. Thomas,

G. Westfall; 1863, W. B. Thomas, S. Elwell; 1864, G. A. Sever-

son, S. Elwell; 1865, G. A. Severson, J. D. Woodruff; 1866, G. A.

Severson; 1867-69, G. R. Hair; 1870-71, George Forsyth; 1872-

73, A. J. Arnold; 1874-75, D. C. Barnes; (1876-86 Gibson was

with Harford;) 1876-78, G. T. Price; 1879-80, C. M. Surdam;

1881-82, Thomas Burgess; 1883-85, J. R. Wagner; 1886-88, J. D.

Bloodgood; 1889-90, P. R. Tower; 1891-95, G. C. Jacobs; 1896-

97, G. N. Underwood; 1898-99, Isaac Jenkins; 1900, L. T.

Van Campen; 1901-03, G. Gorisse.

 

 

Great Bend, Pa.

 

Nathaniel Lewis resided down the river, in the edge of Oakland

township. He was ordained deacon by Bishop Asbury in 1807.

He held meetings in surrounding settlements at an early day, and

is supposed to have done so in Great Bend. John Buck wrote as

follows in 1869:

 

"Seventy-five years ago there was a log dwelling house north

of where the Erie depot now stands, at Great Bend, used as a place

of worship. The congregation was scattered up and down the

river, in cabins. The only means of getting from here was by

canoes. They went as far as the rift or rapids, where they left

their canoes, and walked past the rapids, then took passage in a

large canoe around by my father's. For dinner they carried

milk in bottles, and mush. They listened to one sermon in the

forenoon, and then came back to the canoe and ate dinner, then

went back to second service; Daniel Buck was minister. In sum-

mer this was their means of travel.

 

"With increasing families the means of communication in-

creased. In winter there was no other way save by footpaths.

For many years there were no denominations save Presbyterians.

About seventy years ago [1799] the Methodists began an influence

about two miles from here. Everybody espoused Methodism

men, women, and children. They frequently walked from five to

six miles to be present at prayer meetings.

 

"My sisters were at one of the prayer meetings, and, as an

evidence of the change in the spirit, understanding, and manners

of the people, I give language used in two of the prayers on that


 


 

Great Bend, Pa. 485

 

occasion. The reader will bear in mind that this was seventy

years ago, and that the people were poor, and had little of the

means or knowledge of the present day. I do not conceive that

either of the individuals mentioned cherished a wrong spirit

toward their fellows, but their language gives an illustration of

the strength of party spirit at that time.

 

"Elder Lewis said, 'Send the mind of the people up the river

 

GREAT BEND CHURCH [photo]

 

down to me, and the people down the river [the Presbyterians]

may go to hell, and I care not.'

 

"Mrs. Stid, at the same meeting, said, 'O Lord, take Captain

Buck by the nape of the neck and shake him over hell until his

teeth chatter like a raccoon.'"

 

The above shows the intensity of the people, at least.

 

Shortly after Conference in 1843 the class received notice from

the trustees of the school district to cease using the schoolhouse.

The notice was by Rev. McRary, the pastor of the Presbyterian

church, and a Mr. De Bois, a deacon of the same church. Squire

Lusk, a warm friend of the father of Asa Brooks, though not a

Christian, was much displeased at this move. Being agent of

what was known as the "Block House," he seated it, put in a


 


 

486 Wyoming Conference

 

stove, and gave the class the use of it. About this time a Mr.

Emmons, who owned a cooper shop on the opposite side of the

river, near where the Erie depot now stands, gave the Methodists

the use of it, he sweeping and seating it for each service. Meet-

ings were also held in a schoolhouse about a mile out of town.

 

Early in 1846 the preachers of Susquehanna District petitioned

for the formation of Great Bend Mission. Accordingly, the Con-

ference of 1846 created the mission and appointed Rev. R. S.

Rose to it. The mission was intended to include Great Bend,

Liberty, Franklin, part of Silver Lake, and part of Conklin. Rev.

Mr. Rose writes that his preaching places were as follows: "At

Great Bend, in a schoolhouse for a short time and then the class

hired the Baptist church (this Baptist church was located in what

is now Hallstead); at Conklin Forest, in a schoolhouse; at Cor-

bittsville, in a schoolhouse; at Snake Creek Forks, in a school-

house; at Liberty, or Tanney, in a schoolhouse; at McKinney, in

a schoolhouse." At the end of his year's work he left eighty mem-

bers on the circuit. The next year (1847) this territory is put

with Montrose.

 

The society at Great Bend grew slowly; it was small" for many

years. When Riley Case moved to Great Bend from South Gib-

son the leading members were Dr. James Brooks (class leader),

John McKinney, Mrs. Summerton, Mrs. Painter, Mrs. Trow-

bridge, Mrs. Goble, and Nathaniel Banker. Mr. Case at once

joined the class.

 

About 1851 Jonathan Weston was teaching school in Great

Bend, in the house now occupied by Mr. Chaffee. Mrs. Clara

Guernsey and others secured the use of the room from Mr. Wes-

ton, and invited Rev. N. S. De Witt, then at Conklin, N. Y., to

come and hold some meetings in this room, which he did. This

was undoubtedly by consent of the Montrose pastor, who had

charge of this class at this time. It is very probable that Metho-

dism was at a very low ebb at this time.

 

In 1854 a small church was erected on the present site.

 

The society was incorporated on November 10, 1869, with

Bradley Wakeman, E. F. Wilmot, George Griggs, A. W. Lara-

bee, A. P. Stephens, William Painter, Eli Wilcox, Selah Belden,

and Alonzo S. Cahoon as trustees.

 

The church was rebuilt and enlarged at a cost of $11,400, and

was dedicated on Wednesday, September 21, 1870, Rev. B. I.

Ives preaching in the morning and W. H. Olin in the evening. It

was dedicated at the close of the evening service by D. W. Bristol,

the presiding elder. This church burned on Saturday evening.


 


 

Great Bend, Pa. 487

 

November 18, 1871. At the time of the fire the society had not

yet paid for the church, so that the fire left the society with a lot

and an indebtedness of $1,500. The construction of a new church

was at once begun. The new structure was dedicated on March

13, 1873, Rev. W. P. Abbott preaching in the morning and Rev.

 

D. D. Lindsley in the evening. The building cost $11,500. The

society had a long and bitter struggle in paying for this property,

receiving some liberal contributions from outside the charge. In

1880 the society was still $2,000 in debt. Mr. B. Wakeman made

a very liberal subscription, and the hvely efforts of the young

people reduced the debt to $900. In July, 1881, $200 more was

paid on the debt. On January 8, 1882, a jubilee service was held

over the hquidation of the debt. Toward this the widow of Rev.

W. P. Abbott paid $200.

 

In 1888 the church was carpeted, painted, and frescoed, and

mortgaged for $500. Incidental indebtedness increased so that

in 1894 the society was $800 in debt. In 1895 and 1896 $200

was spent in repairs and the indebtedness reduced to $300. In-

debtedness was allowed to accumulate until $600 must be raised

to pay all indebtedness. On November 6, 1898, a rally day was

observed, and announcement made by the pastor that the debt

was all raised and enough more to insure the church.

 

This building seems to stand in an electrical storm center. "The

church which burned was struck by lightning, but without much

injury. The present structure was hit by lightning about 1886,

and quite seriously damaged.

 

The society has no parsonage.

 

Pastorates

 

Prior to 1841 its preachers were probably from Wyoming and

Bridgewater Circuits; 1841-45, with Montrose (1841-42, E. B.

Tenny, George C. Thompson; 1843-44, J. R. Boswell; 1845,

W. Round); 1846, R. S. Rose; 1847-54, with Montrose (1847,

Asa Brooks, D. Torry; 1848, D. Torry, G. P. Porter; 1849, E. B.

Tenny, G. W. Leach; 1850-51, John Mulkey; 1852-53, P. Bartlett;

1854, Joseph Whitham, J. H. Cargill); 1855-56, New Milford

and Great Bend, H. R. Clarke; 1857, Great Bend and New Mil-

ford (the two places continuing together until spring of 1869),

W. Silsbee; 1858, Luther Peck; 1859-60, H. Wheeler; 1861, S. S.

Barter; 1862, G. A. Severson; 1863-64, P. Bartlett; 1865-66, S.

Elwell; 1867-68, A. F. Harding; 1869-71, I. N. Pardee; 1872-74,

E. P. Eldridge; 1875-76, C. S. Alexander; 1877, W. B. Kinney;

1878-79, C. H. Jewell; 1880-81, J. W. Mevis; 1882-84, O. L.


 


 

488 Wyoming Conference

 

Severson; 1885-87, E. B. Olmstead; 1888-89, J. B. Sweet; 1890-

91, W. R. Turner; 1892-93, J. A. Faulkner; 1894-97, J. S. Cromp-

ton; 1898-1900, J. N. Lee; 1901-02, S. G. Snowden; 1903, E. B.

Singer.

 

 

Hallstead, Pa.

 

Methodists commenced work here as early as 1842, holding

services in an old Baptist church and in a schoolhouse that stood

on the site of the present church. Between that time and the

organization of the Hallstead church several ministers of the

Great Bend and New Milford and Great Bend charges held

services here. Rev. J. B. Sweet held meetings in the schoolhouse

 

HALLSTEAD CHURCH [photo]

 

on Franklin Street, and afterward in the Stockholm Hall, corner

of Pine Street and Chase Avenue. Rev. J. A. Faulkner held

services in the Baptist church and in the Young Men's Christian

Association Hall.

 

"As the town grew and the number of Methodists in Hallstead

increased it was thought that the interests of Methodism could

best be conserved by erecting a church. Growing out of this

thought, at the third Quarterly Conference of the Great Bend

Methodist Episcopal Church, held in October, 1894, a resolution

was adopted to the effect that 'it was now time that the Methodist

people in our sister town of Hallstead should have a church of

their own.' The following trustees were elected, who at a future

meeting held in Hallstead were confirmed and elected to the offices


 


 

Hallstead, Pa. 489

 

indicated, namely, L. D. Miller, president; B. F. Bernstein, sec-

retary; L. N. Frudd, treasurer; A. Watson, and J. Bogart.

 

"The following Monday night a meeting of all interested was

held in Hallstead, at which time, as above stated, the trustees were

confirmed, and a site for building the church was selected. Three

lots were obtainable free of cost, namely, the Rose property on

Church Street, adjoining the Delaware, Lackawanna, and Western

Railroad track; a lot offered by the Hallstead Land Improvement

Company, together with a pledge of $500; and a lot on Pine

Street, offered by Captain R. C. DuBois. After a general dis-

cussion a vote was taken, by which it was unanimously decided

to accept the offer of the Rose property on Church Street.

 

"A subscription was soon after started, and nearly $1,500 was

pledged. To decide where to build was one thing; to decide what

to build was another thing. On the subject of the size and cost

of the church-to-be there was difference of opinion. Owing to

this the building project was delayed for some time, and at one

time it seemed that the whole matter would fail of success. Plans,

procured from the Church Extension Society, were at length de-

cided on, the contract was awarded to F. H. Johnson and the

work of building' pushed rapidly forward.

 

"The corner stone was laid September 11, 1895. The following-

named articles were placed in the corner stone, namely: A Bible;

a copy of the Methodist Episcopal Discipline; a photograph of the

pastor. Rev. John Crompton; a copy of each of the following pa-

pers: The Christian Advocate, the Northern Christian Advocate,

the Hallstead Herald, and the Great Bend Plaindealer, and an

historical statement of the movement. Addresses were made by

Presiding Elder Woodruff, Revs. Stephen Jay, H. H. Wilbur,

J. B. Wilson, and others. Rev. J. S. Crompton laid the corner

stone, assisted by the trustees."

 

The church was dedicated on Tuesday, March 17, 1896. At

the morning service speeches were made by the Rev. Mr. Church,

pastor of the Hallstead Presbyterian Church, Rev. Mr. Davis pas-

tor of the Hallstead Baptist Church, Revs. J. S. Crompton, J. H.

Race, C. H. Hayes, and A. F. Harding, Mr. Adar, secretary of

the Hallstead Young Men's Christian Association, and Mr.

Moore, editor of the Great Bend Plaindealer. Rev. W. H. Pearce,

D.D., preached at 2 p. m., and in the evening Rev. J. B. Sweet.

The cost of the church and furnishings, exclusive of lot, was

$3,600. There was needed $2,000, the balance having been raised.

Rev. J. H. Race did the soliciting during the day, and $1,700 was

secured, leaving an unprovided-for debt of $300. The church


 


 

490 Wyoming Conference

 

was dedicated by Rev. Stephen Jay, in the absence of the presiding

elder, who was sick.

 

On the succeeding Sunday a Sunday school was organized, with

Charles Banker superintendent. Subsequently Senior and Junior

Leagues were organized.

 

On Thursday, October 28, 1897, a Rally Day service was held.

Rev. M. S. Hard, D.D., preached in the afternoon, and the even-

ing service was in charge of Rev. J. H. Race, the Carmel Grove

Trio furnishing several songs. The sum of $875 was raised,

which a little more than paid the indebtedness of the society.

 

The Ladies' Aid Society was organized about the time the

building of a new church began to be agitated, and has done

fine service.

 

The first death of a member of the society was that of John

Austin, who fell dead on July 18, 1897, while leading the Ep worth

League service.

 

Some singular coincidences: The church was dedicated on

St. Patrick's Day; the first pastor was of Irish descent; the first

lecture delivered in the church was by an Irishman and on Ire-

land; and the first funeral in the church was that of an Irishman.

 

The pastor at Great Bend served this society until Conference

in April, when it received a pastor by appointment of the Confer-

ence.

 

Pastorates

 

1896, E. E. Riley; 1897-98, D. L. McDonald; 1899, H. A.

Williams; 1900-01, E. Colwell; 1902, W. L. Linnaberry; 1903,

G. A. Warburton.